Relationships within The Blacklist Essay

Relationships within The Blacklist Essay

Length: 1945 words (5.6 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Better Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview


Arguing
Secrets within The Blacklist play a huge role given the audience a sense of urgency. Although to some the show is to be just a form of entertainment, but there are others who believe that The Blacklist is a construction or the “Spectacle” ,as Guy Debord would phrase it, in which the ruling class uses spectacles to deceive the public of things that are really in effect in congress to maintain the status quo. The Blacklist shows a lot of gender stereotyping for example, Red is the main character, but has a female “side kick” which is broadcasted to be Red’s daughter Liz. When viewing shows like The Blacklist many viewers do not look at the social standards that are consumed on a day to day basis.
Throughout the physical research of this study I have found out a lot more about this show than could have ever crossed minds before, one example being that this show has be premiered and marketed so well to the point that the viewer have almost no resistance to not believe what the show is trying to instill into our minds. These shows also categorize the characters, some are “good” guys and others are bad guys, but who is actually decided these labels? Are the categories fair? Many would say yes based off the plot line of the show, but some wonder if the bad guys have an equal amount of air time to defend themselves. These factors bring up a conflict of narration weather or not every character is portrayed in a way that they could be like-able which not the case in The Blacklist is. This “good” guy, bad guy routine is commonly used in crime shows and movies, but is not a true example of real life that these shows depict to do. In a sense these real-life shows are the complete opposite not giving the audience a real conclusion o...


... middle of paper ...


...phy and Other Essays. Http://virginiabonner.com/courses/cms4310/readings/althusser.pdf. Ben Brewster, Apr. 1970. Web. 29 Apr. 2014
8. "The Blacklist: Season 1." - Rotten Tomatoes. N.p., n.d. Web. 01 May 2014.
9. Debord, Guy. "Society of the Spectacle." Society of the Spectacle. N.p., 1967. Web. 22 Apr. 2014.
10. "The Blacklist | Red & Liz | Who We Are." YouTube. YouTube, 02 Mar. 2014. Web. 01 May 2014.
11. Burke, Kenneth. "Literature as Equipment for Living." The Critical Tradition (1998): n. pag. Web. 7 May 2014. .
12. "Posts Tagged ‘The Blacklist Ratings’." TVbytheNumbers The Blacklist Ratings Tag. N.p., 29 Apr. 2014. Web. 05 May 2014.
13. Ryan, Maureen. "The Blacklist - Season 1 Reviews - Metacritic." The Blacklist - Season 1 Reviews - Metacritic. TheHuffingtonPost.com, 23 Sept. 2013. Web. 07 May 2014.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Analysis of NBC´s Blacklist Essay

- How many shows on television do you know that offer a guilt-free antihero as its protagonist. Well, I certainly cannot think of many, and I believe that is the inaugural case as to why NBC’s The Blacklist has been this Fall’s number one show. The idea behind it is that an ingenious, criminal mastermind for some apparent reason starts to assist the FBI catch the world’s most wanted criminals, some of which they did not know existed. Although I am already a fan of the show, I do think that The Blacklist does borrow much of its premise from USA’s White Collar....   [tags: crimes, show, time, premir]

Better Essays
907 words (2.6 pages)

Essay about The Hollywood’s Blacklist

- Hollywood’s Blacklist developed out of complex social, political, and economical conditions. The Hollywood’s blacklist was a method utilized by the federal government to deny employment to many professionals in the entertainment industry, including but not limit to screenwriter, actor, producer, director, musicians, and animators. These professionals were “blacklisted” as a result of suspected political association with the Communist party. The manufacturing of the blacklist sprung out of panic and fear of communist reconnaissance as a result of many events that were taking place around the world such as the Soviet Eastern Europe, Berlin blockade, Chinese Civil War, confessions of high-ranki...   [tags: entertaintment industry, democracy]

Better Essays
1873 words (5.4 pages)

Relationships within Social Media Essay examples

- ... This is even more problematic for children. Children are being taught how to focus on a very fun fast games online, which would be helpful if in life were fast and stimulating similar to video games, but it is not. Over-exposure to social media and gaming devices have negative side-effects. Technology has enabled children to learn to focus on many things at once, but they aren’t able to focus on anything in-depth (Troglin, 2013, para. 4). Since technology has enabled children to learn to not focus, and also that children aren’t being taught to sit and wait, children in America are basically learning to have Attention Deficit Disorder....   [tags: feeling of belonging, cyberrelationships]

Better Essays
1907 words (5.4 pages)

Coach, Player Relationshps Essay

- In today’s times, athletics are rapidly changing not only on the court but off of it as well. Athletes spend immense amount of hours with their coaches, which causes the question whether athletes should have close relationships with their coaches to arise. Many people believe coaches and athletes should not have close relationships due to the chances of inappropriate conduct to take place between the two. But others feel coaches and athletes should have close relationships because of the knowledge the coach has to offer not only about the game but also life....   [tags: Athletics, Coaches, Relationships, Sports]

Better Essays
1417 words (4 pages)

Within A Budding Grove by Marcel Proust and The Trial by Franz Kafka Essay

- When interpreting characters in novels readers perceive characters by the impressions the author provides to writers. In the novels Within A Budding Grove by Marcel Proust and The Trial by Franz Kafka the characters Albertine and Josef K. can be looked at in many different perspectives. Proust portrays Albertine to be a multifaceted, unpredictable character but when taking a step away from the narrator’s thoughts she can be seem in a completely different light. Kafka’s main character Josef K....   [tags: Within A Budding Grove Essays]

Better Essays
2023 words (5.8 pages)

Relationship Between Relationships And Relationships Essay

- DIFFERENT RELATIONSHIPS IN LIFE. In life, people are connected with one another. They could be family, friends, and lovers. There is always a different connection among people that’s why the world is how it is today. Most of the Relationships such as friendship, family, lover’s neighbors value a lot in my life because they are the people that support me. The following are the ways in which relationships mean to me. The friendly relationship is the one related with your friend. My friend makes me laugh a lot because she has a funny look, she is the one that takes my side when I am in a fight, she is the one that I can’t study with because both of us cant stop chatting or even stop gossiping a...   [tags: Interpersonal relationship, Love, Friendship]

Better Essays
877 words (2.5 pages)

Essay on Interpersonal Relationships in an Intimate Context

- Personal relationships are central to being human. We have relationships of so many kinds and maintain so many roles throughout our daily lives. We are expected to be a successful communicator as coworkers, parents, children, friends, siblings, and intimate partners. Interpersonal communications investigates both nonverbal and verbal message exchange between two people regardless of their relationship. Interpersonal communications is a fairly new profession and field of study but it is one that applies to all....   [tags: personal relationships,interpersonal communication]

Better Essays
1321 words (3.8 pages)

How Does A Person 's Psychological Disorders Affect Interpersonal Communication Within Romantic And Close Friend Relationships?

- Many people suffer from psychological disorders that impair their ability to create and sustain positive relationships that fulfill the human need for companionship in the form of romantic and close friend relationships simply because these disorders affect their ability to effectively communicate on an interpersonal level. Since these people often deal with social skills deficiencies, many of them have not been able to learn “how to express themselves in a more personally revealing manner” (Cumming & Rapee, 2010); therefore, research on how these disorders work in terms of a person’s interpersonal communication skills is integral to determine how to alter these effects....   [tags: Interpersonal relationship, Psychology, Sociology]

Better Essays
1682 words (4.8 pages)

America's Communism Scare and the Hollywood Blacklist Essay

- BLACKLIST - A list of persons who are under suspicion, disfavor, or censure, or who are not to be hired, served, or otherwise accepted. -- http://www.merriam-webster.com/ During the late 1940’s and throughout the 1950’s, there was a great fear of Communism in America and abroad. The House Committee on Un-American Activities (HUAC) was created in 1938 as a means to investigate and weed out Communists and Communist supporters from American society. Its first major attack was on the Hollywood film industry....   [tags: Exploratory Essays Research Papers]

Better Essays
1767 words (5 pages)

Relationship Skills Essay

- A relationship is what we choose to have with a family member, friend, significant other, and/or a person that we just have met. You should know that there should be a strong connection or bond for the relationship to grow in many levels. Relationships tend to vary from impersonal to personal. A description of an impersonal relationship is someone who does not care and explicit a lack of concern to anyone they are communicating with. In personal relationships, people do care about each other and share their thoughts and feelings....   [tags: Relationships]

Better Essays
1295 words (3.7 pages)